SUMMARY OF MOTIONS CALIFORNIA STATE RETIREES (CSR) BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

Holiday Inn, Sacramento February 22, 2018

7. Approval of October 26, 2017 Board Meeting Minutes

CSR 1/18/1 MOTION: Oliveira, second by Hueg - that the CSR Board of Directors approve the minutes of the October 26, 2017 meeting as printed. CARRIED.

11. Program Reports - HQ

CSR 2/18/1 MOTION: Fountain, second by Hueg – that the CSR Board of Directors buy the three promotion items, hats, totes and lapel pins, in bulk and send out numbers to chapters. CARRIED.

12. Political Action Committee

- CSR 3/18/1 MOTION: Oliveira, second by Fountain that the CSR Board of Directors endorse incumbents Controller Betty Yee and Secretary of State Alex Padilla for reelection. CARRIED.
- CSR 4/18/1 MOTION: Umemoto, second by Jimenez that the CSR Board of Directors endorse Treasurer Fiona Ma. CARRIED.
- CSR 5/18/1 MOTION: Jimenez, second by Oliveira that the CSR Board of Directors endorse the following Assembly incumbents seeking reelection: AD 01 Brian Dahle (R-Bieber), AD 02 Jim Wood (D-Healdsburg), AD 03 James Gallagher (R-Nicolaus), AD 04 Cecilia Aguiar-Curry (D-Napa), AD 05 Frank Bigelow (R-O'Neals), AD 06 Kevin Kiley (R-EI Dorado Hills), AD 07 Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento), AD 08 Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), AD 09 Jim Cooper (D-Elk Grove), AD 10 Marc Levine (D-San Rafael), AD 11 Jim Frazier (D-Oakley), AD 12 Heath Flora (R-Modesto), AD 13 Susan Eggman (D-Stockton), AD 14 Tim Grayson (D-Concord), AD 16 Catharine Baker (D-Dublin), AD 17 David Chiu (D-San Francisco), AD 18 Rob Bonta (D-Alameda), AD 19 Phil Ting (D-San Francisco), AD 20 Bill Quirk (D-Hayward), AD 21 Adam Gray (D-Merced). AD 22 Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco), AD 23 Jim Patterson (R-Fresno), AD 24 Marc Berman (D-Menlo Park), AD 25 Kansen Chu (D-San Jose), AD 27 Ash Kaira (D-San Jose), AD 28 Evan Low (D-Campbell), AD 29 Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley), AD 31 Joaquin Arambula (D-Fresno), AD 32 Rudy Salas Jr. (D-Bakersfied), AD 33 Jay Obemolte (R-Big Bear Lake), AD 34 Vince Fong (R-Bakersfield), AD 35 Jordan Cunningham (R-San Luis Obispo), AD 36 Tom Lackey (R-Palmdale), AD 37 Monigue Limon (D-Santa Barbara), AD 38 Dante Acosta (R-Santa Clarita), AD 40 Marc Seinorth (R-Rancho Cucamonga), AD 41 Chris Holden (D-Pasadena), AD 42 Chad Mayes (R-Yucca Valley), AD 43 Laura Friedman (D-Glendale), AD 44 Jacqui Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks), AD 46 Adrin Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks), AD 47

Eloise Gomez Reyes (D-San Bernardino), AD 48 Blanca Rubio (D-West Covina), AD 49 Ed Chau (D-Arcadia), AD 50 Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica), AD 51 Wendy Carillo (D-Los Angeles), AD 52 Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona), AD 53 Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles), AD 55 Phillip Chen (R-Diamond Bar), AD 56 Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella), AD 57 Ian Calderon (D-Whittier), AD 59 Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D-Los Angeles), AD 60 Sabrina Cervantes (D-Corona), AD 61 Jose Medina (D-Riverside), AD 62 Autumn Burke (D-Inglewood), AD 63 Anthony Rendon (D-Lakewood), AD 64 Mike Gipson (D-Carson), AD 65 Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-Fullerton), AD 66 Al Muratsuchi (D-Manhattan Beach), AD 67 Melissa Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore), AD 68 Steven Choi (R-Irvine), AD 69 Tom Daly (D-Anaheim), AD 70 Patrick O'Donnell (D-Long Beach), AD 71 Randy Veopel (R-Santee), AD 73 William Brough (R-Dana Point), AD 74 Matthew Harper (R-Huntington Beach), AD 75 Marie Waldron (R-Escondido), AD 77 Brian Maienschein (R-San Diego), AD 78 Todd Gloria (D-San Diego), AD 79 Shirley Weber (D-San Diego), AD 80 Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher (D-San Diego). CARRIED.

CSR 6/18/1 MOTION: Jimenez, second by Fountain – that the CSR Board of Directors endorse the following Senate incumbents seeking reelection: SD 02 Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg), SD 04 Jim Nielsen (R-Gerber), SD 06 Richard Pan (D-Sacramento), SD 10 Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont), SD 14 Andy Vidak (R-Hanford), SD 18 Bob Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys), SD 20 Connie Leyva (D-Chino), SD 26 Ben Allen (D-Santa Monica), SD 28 Jeff Stone (R-Temecula), SD 30 Holly Mitchell (D-Los Angeles), SD 34 Janet Nguyen (R-Garden Grove), SD 36 Patricia Bates (R-Laguna Niguel), SD 40 Ben Hueso (D-San Diego). CARRIED.

15A. Health Benefits Committee

CSR 7/18/1 MOTION: Hueg, second by Stoltzman – that the CSR Board of Directors submit a letter to CalPERS to oppose CalPERS entering into a contract with the Castlight program and the costs for that program. CARRIED.

15B. Finance Committee

- CSR 8/18/1 MOTION: Jimenez, second by Umemoto, amended by Paradis, second by Oliveira – that the CSR Board of Directors authorize the purchase of computer equipment and software for each chapter, committee chair and board member and provide training. CARRIED.
- CSR 9/18/1 MOTION: McDonnell, second by Fountain that the CSR Board of Directors ask staff to mail postcards to chapters who would commit through 2018. CARRIED.
- CSR 10/18/1 MOTION: Fountain, second by Stoltzman that the CSR Board of Directors authorize participation in Lobby Day for four members from each chapter in District G. CARRIED.

15D. Bylaws and Governing Rules Committee

CSR 11/18/1 MOTION: Jimenez, second by Oliveira – that the CSR Board of Directors

approve the language chances in Governing Rule 9.00 to read as follows:

9.00 CHAPTER ELECTIONS

9.11 Chapter Election Process

(a) Ballots listing names of candidates and their statements shall be mailed by or on behalf of Corporate office no later than April 20, by nonprofit mail to those active members with an address within the state, and by first class mail for all others.

CARRIED.

17A. Presidents' Forum October 2017 Minutes

CSR 12/18/1 MOTION: Oliveira, second by Jimenez – that the CSR Board of Directors accept the minutes of the Presidents' Forum October 25, 2017 meeting as corrected, changing "Raylene Laverentz" to "Raelene Allard" on page 33. CARRIED.

* * * *

NOTE: This is not an official report – only an expedient until the official minutes can be printed.